Category Archives: Uncategorized

Not Accepting Oil

Effective 3/15/16 per the Mayor’s Office, the Recycling Center will no longer accept waste oil. You may dispose of your waste engine oil for free at Advance Auto Parts or AutoZone or at any other commercial collector.

Hours, Contact, Holidays

Hours:

Tuesday through Friday:      7:15 a.m. to 3:15 p.m.

         CLOSED FOR LUNCH:          11:30  a.m. to 12:00 p.m.

Saturday:                                          8:30 a.m. to  3:00 p.m.

Phone:        (860) 355-6044

Manager:  Robert Hanna, rhanna@newmilford.org

Location:  18 Young’s Field Road

Recycling Center Holidays 2017

                              CLOSED:

New Year’s Day                                  Monday, January 2, 2017
Recycling- Closed*                           Tuesday, January 3, 2017
Martin Luther King Day                Monday, January 16, 2017
Recycling-Closed*                            Tuesday, January 17, 2017
Lincoln’s Birthday                             Monday, February 13, 2017
Recycling -Closed*                           Tuesday, February 14, 2017
Washington’s Birthday                  Monday, February 20, 2017
Recycling -Closed*                           Tuesday, February 21, 2017
Good Friday                                          Friday, April 14, 2017
Memorial Day                                     Monday, May 29, 2017
Recycling – Closed*                          Tuesday, May 30, 2017
Independence Day                           Tuesday, July 4, 2017
Labor Day                                               Monday, September 4, 2017
Recycling -Closed*                            Tuesday, September 5, 2017
Columbus Day                                     Monday, October 9, 2017
Recycling -Closed*                            Tuesday, October 10, 2017
Veteran’s Day                                       Friday, November 10, 2017
Thanksgiving Day                              Thursday, November 23, 2017
Friday after Thanksgiving             Friday, November 24, 2017
Christmas Day                                    Monday, December 25, 2017
Recycling -Closed*                          Tuesday, December 26, 2017

*If a holiday is on a Monday,  the Center is closed on the following Tuesday.

Information

 

FLYER/HANDOUT:  This is our easy-to-read list of fees and what you can drop off.

GUIDE TO OPERATIONS:  This comprehensive document contains the nitty-gritty rules about using the Center.  It includes a list of fees.   Have a question?  This is your first stop!  Please note that the information in the Guide supercedes the information in the Flyer.

TEXTILES: What We Take

E-WASTE: All About It

STICKER APPLICATION FOR NEW MILFORD RESIDENTS 2016-2017 Download it and save time.    Fill it out ahead of time, have your license, registration and a check (payable to “Town of New Milford’) ready for Center personnel.  It’s quicker and easier this way!

MEDICATIONS: Expired? Unwanted? There’s a Dropbox at NMPD

What NOT to Put in Recycling

MATTRESS RECYCLING :  What does it mean to users of the Recycling Center?    The drop-off of mattresses and box-springs will be free ONLY if they don’t have any visible contamination, infestation or dirt.    If they do, they have  to go into Bulky Waste and the current fees will apply. This program began on July 1, 2015.

HAZARDOUS WASTE DAY 2015 is on Saturday, September 19 at the Railroad Station.