Not Accepting Oil

Effective 3/15/16 per the Mayor’s Office, the Recycling Center will no longer accept waste oil. You may dispose of your waste engine oil for free at Advance Auto Parts or AutoZone or at any other commercial collector.

Hours, Contact, Holidays

Hours Starting September 1, 2015:

Tuesday through Friday:      7:15 a.m. to 3:15 p.m.

         CLOSED FOR LUNCH:          11:30  a.m. to 12:00 p.m.

Saturday:                                          8:30 a.m. to  3:00 p.m.

Phone:        (860) 355-6044

Location:  18 Young’s Field Road

Recycling Center Holidays 2016


New Year’s Day                                  Friday, January 1, 2016
Martin Luther King Day             Monday, January 18, 2016
Closed*                                                      Tuesday, January 19, 2016
Lincoln’s Birthday                           Friday, February 12, 2016
Washington’s Birthday              Monday, February 15, 2016
Closed*                                                      Tuesday, February 16, 2016
Good Friday                                          Friday, March 25, 2016
Memorial Day                                     Monday, May 30, 2016
Closed*                                                      Tuesday, May 31, 2016
Independence Day                         Monday, July 4, 2016
Closed*                                                     Tuesday, July 5, 2016
Labor Day                                             Monday, September 5, 2016
Closed*                                                   Tuesday, September 6, 2016
Columbus Day                                 Monday, October 10, 2016
Closed*                                                   Tuesday, October 11, 2016
Veteran’s Day                                   Friday, November 11, 2016
Thanksgiving Day                        Thursday, November 24, 2016
Friday after Thanksgiving      Friday, November 25, 2016
Christmas Day                                 Monday, December 25, 2016
Closed*                                                    Tuesday, December 26, 2016

*When there is a Monday Holiday, the Center is closed on the following Tuesday.



FLYER/HANDOUT:  This is our easy-to-read list of fees and what you can drop off.

GUIDE TO OPERATIONS:  This comprehensive document contains the nitty-gritty rules about using the Center.  It includes a list of fees.   Have a question?  This is your first stop!  Please note that the information in the Guide supercedes the information in the Flyer.

TEXTILES: What We Take

E-WASTE: All About It

STICKER APPLICATION FOR NEW MILFORD RESIDENTS 2016-2017 Download it and save time.    Fill it out ahead of time, have your license, registration and a check (payable to “Town of New Milford’) ready for Center personnel.  It’s quicker and easier this way!

MEDICATIONS: Expired? Unwanted? There’s a Dropbox at NMPD

What NOT to Put in Recycling

MATTRESS RECYCLING :  What does it mean to users of the Recycling Center?    The drop-off of mattresses and box-springs will be free ONLY if they don’t have any visible contamination, infestation or dirt.    If they do, they have  to go into Bulky Waste and the current fees will apply. This program began on July 1, 2015.

HAZARDOUS WASTE DAY 2015 is on Saturday, September 19 at the Railroad Station.